No Fear In Love - March 02, 2004

i went to see the movie "the passion of christ" on saturday. i've been hearing all the buzz, both good and bad. the movie, no matter what your beliefs, will stay in your mind a while.

i'm troubled by some of what has been said about this movie, and encouraged by some of it. i'm not going to add more of a commentary on it. you can go to any major publication for that. having seen it, one thing that really struck me was the scene when jesus is telling his disciples that they will experience persecution.

persecution...that's what i've been afraid of. i've been afraid to talk about my beliefs. i've thought that i'll lose my friends. but that's the thing...it doesn't matter. it shouldn't matter. it hurts me so much not to say what i believe. it really hurts. i don't want to be afraid. i don't want to feel hurt because i think that my friends won't love me if my opinions differ. in the past, i've had friends change the way they treated me when they learned i was a christian.

so, what do i do? trust god, for one...

i guess it's not just the people i know, it's what i see in the media. christians are often portrayed as ignorant, as hicks, as hateful, or boring, or stuck-up. it hurts me to see that. that's what the world thinks of me.

here's the truth. here's what i believe. god loves everyone. that's why jesus died. for all of us. christians shouldn't be lumped together, like any group of people. we should try to see each person, like god sees us. for all that's good and bad, for everything we are.

so, this is me, getting out some thoughts, trying to express some of the hurt, trying to be real and not be afraid anymore.

<--->

Blog On - May 05, 2005

I Like Your Sleeves - April 07, 2005

Sucking At This - March 10, 2005

Why So Nervous? - March 03, 2005

Eased, Excited, and Enriched - February 02, 2005